The Makeover

It looks different here, doesn’t it? For first time visitors, trust me, it does. That’s me in the pic (not the pumpkin pic).

Gone is the austere gulag aesthetic of the blog, and gone too are the multiple special features of nickearls.com, which now redirects here. This is meant to be something in between – low-maintenance but not no-maintenance, not quite as grey as the blog used to look, and without as many moving parts as Sunny Garden (the former nickearls.com).

Yes, I have, while waiting for editorial feedback on a book, acquainted myself with some of the features of this here wordpress thing, rather than skating by on the bare minimum, which is what I usually do.

There will continue to be blogging here but, as you can see, there’s also scope for news, event details and even a partially helpful section on where to buy my books.

It will be amateurish, I will be making it up as I go along, and I will try to keep things close to up-to-date. I can only promise the first two, but I should at least pay lips service to the third.

Thanks for joining me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Makeover

  1. Looks good Nick. I saw Ross Noble perform last night and he spent quite awhile pondering the reasons why people turn their heads to the side when they’re problem-solving. Your Header photo thus encourages readers to look as though they’re deep in thought while engaging with your blog – good plan πŸ™‚

  2. nickearls says:

    You’re onto me. I always try to go by what Ross Noble says, since I assume it’s all extensively tested and scientifically validated.

  3. Liz says:

    Congratulations! I trust the ascent into becoming the webmaster of your own domain wasn’t too taxing in the end πŸ™‚

    • nickearls says:

      I still have no idea how the real job’s done, obviously, but wordpress seems pretty well designed for people who don’t have a clue and aren’t planning to get one. Your infotech friends handled the redirection …

  4. eskimojo says:

    It looks good Nick, but if there’s any way to get the pumpkins to stay still on the background it’d minimise scrolling induced nausea and make me very happy =)

Leave a Reply

